Vedic Astrology, originated from the ‘Vedas' provides detailed orientation of a person towards his/her life. There are 12 houses, known as Bhaav as per Vedas, which are generated on the basis of constellations. These are separated by 30 degrees which in conclusion completes the circle,  signifying a symbolic representation of the wheel of life.

First 6 houses determine inside you and the remaining 6 houses determine outside you. We will go through each house in this article.


1st House : Mind and Personality

Vedic Name: Tanu Bhava
Ruler of House: Maish (Aries)
Lord of the Zodiac: Mangal (Mars)

First House is known as Lagna. This is a representation of a person to the world. It determines physical body and mental alignments to the world of the individual. How a person looks, his nature, his inclinations towards emotions, temperament, actualization, work, ethics, material possessions etc. can be determined by the first house.

Body parts associated with the first house are head and face. Weak first house may associate problems with anxiety, mental illness , acne and scars on the face.


2nd House : Relatives and Bank Balance

Vedic Name: Dhana Bhava or Kutumba Bhava
Ruler of House: Vrish (Taurus)
Lord of the Zodiac: Shukra (Venus)

The Second House signifies the possession of relative and wealth in someone’s life. Isn’t it relatable? The more money you have the more relatives are going to surround you. 

This house also represents primary education.

Body parts associated with the second house are tongue, teeth, eyes, mouth, nose, facial bones, upper neck and bones.


3rd House : Communication, Hobbies and Siblings

Vedic Name: Buddhi Bhava
Ruler of House: Mithun (Gemini)
Lord of the Zodiac: Budh (Mercury)

This house is related to intellect. Mental inclination relates to memory, communication  and learning and mental activities like writing, drawing, speaking etc. Creativity of an individual can be visualized with the help of this house.

Body parts associated with the third house are limbs (shoulders, arms, hands, legs, collar bones, lungs and nervous system. Weak third house can result handicapped birth or likeliness of fractures with accidents.


4th House : Mother, Family and Friends

Vedic Name: Bhandu or Maatra Bhava
Ruler of House: Kark (Cancer)
Lord of the Zodiac: Chandra (Moon)

Fourth House is related to roots of your origin. Your relationship with Mother and upbringing is defined by this house. This house also signifies the environment of your upbringing. Bonding of parents can be seen via this house.

Body parts associated with the fourth house are the lower neck, breasts, chest. Weak fourth house may result in problems associated with lungs and stomach.


5th House : Pleasure and Romance

Vedic Name: Putra Bhava
Ruler of House: Singh (Leo)
Lord of the Zodiac: Surya (Sun)

Fifth house is a house of sports, love matters, speculation and gains and losses from speculation. This is a house of teaching, hobbies, personal interests and leisure. This relates to the drama of living also. This house shows sexual relations related with dating, romance and primarily seen for love marriage. 

It’s also related to luck and attainments during lifetime.

Body parts associated with the fifth house are heart, upper and middle back, stomach, pancreas and spine.


6th House : Enemy and Difficulties

Vedic Name: Ari Bhava or Shatru Bhava
Ruler of House: Kanya (Virgo)
Lord of the Zodiac: Budh (Mercury)

This is a house that signifies debts, diseases and job. It further signifies daily tasks (activities done for living), agony, physical pain, service and servants, theft and thieves, animals, fire, diseases (especially acute), hygiene and medicine.

This house signifies critical relationships with others as it’s associated with servants and junior peers. 

Body parts associated with the sixth house are waist, lower abdomen, kidney, navel, small intestine, upper part of large intestine.


7th House : Business and Partnership

Vedic Name: Yuvati Bhava
Ruler of House: Tula (Libra)
Lord of the Zodiac: Shukra (Venus)

Seventh house relates to one to one relationship (especially marriage). It also signifies business, partnerships, contracts etc. What enters the Fifth house shows the result in this house. This house relates to purposes related to partnerships i.e. progeny, society and social norms.

This house reflects behaviour with your spouse, partner etc. It shows why you are going to treat your  partner and others connected with you in some kind of legal bonding. 

Body parts associated with the seventh house are Kidneys and lower half of the back.


8th House : Reincarnation and Death

Vedic Name: Ayu Bhava
Ruler of House: Vrishchik (Scorpio)
Lord of the Zodiac: Mangal (Mars)

Eighth house is a house of mysteries and transformations. This house can state the mental peace of a person which in good form can make a person strongly intuitive and master of astrology, psychology, mathematics and occult and in weak form can bring depression, chronic illness, miseries, lack of mental peace, imprisonment etc. This house rules over death, longevity and  sudden events like the lottery. If Saturn is sitting or having drishti over this house then it’s likely that the person will inherit parental property. 

This house also determines wealth in regards to sudden gains and losses of properties. This house represents actions that are done when not seen by others.

Body parts associated with the eighth house are pelvic bones and external sexual organs.


9th House : Good Virtue

Vedic Name: Dharma Bhava
Ruler of House: Dhanu (Sagittarius)
Lord of the Zodiac: Guru (Jupiter)

Ninth house is about truth, principles, dreams and intuitions. This house deals with religions associations, migration, karma and dharma. It’s also related to ethics, higher studies and moral values. It reflects philanthropic activities which are deeds and charity. 

Body parts associated with the ninth house are thighs, left leg.

10th House : Work and Career

Vedic Name: Karma Bhava
Ruler of House: Makar (Capricorn)
Lord of the Zodiac: Shani (Saturn)

Tenth house deals with work, nature of career/profession, prestige and reputation. It relates to fame, honor and recognition one can attain via work or career. It relates daily tasks that an individual will persuade in terms of career. It also signifies the nature of job/career an individual is likely to follow.

Body parts associated with the tenth house are knees, kneecaps, bones and joints.


11th House : Gains on Name, Fame and Money

Vedic Name: Labha Bhava
Ruler of House: Kumbh (Aquarius)
Lord of the Zodiac: Shani (Saturn)

Eleventh house represents wealth and income, gain in name, fame and money and also plays a significant role in determining the areas of income/profits. It determines the social circle, friends, acquaintances, well-wishers and relationship with elders especially elder brother(s).

Body parts associated with the eleventh house are ankles and right leg.


12th House : Intuitions, Dreams, Secrets and Emotions

Vedic Name: Vairagya Bhava
Ruler of House: Meen (Pisces)
Lord of the Zodiac: Guru (Jupiter)

Twelfth house represents the end of the life cycle and beginning of spiritual journeys. It's a house of unconsciousness , self-doing and imprisonment. Moreover understanding for this house can be related to self realization, ego, subconscious mind, past life, connection to souls, sleep, spiritual development, karmic gains.

Body parts associated with twelfth house are feet and lymphatic system.